The Fault in our Stars Quotes

My Favorite Quotes from The Fault in our Stars

“Look at it, rising up and rising down, taking everything with it.” (―Peter Van Houten, An Imperial Affliction)

“Depression is a side effect of dying.” (p.3―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“…my lungs sucked at being lungs.” (p.8―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.” (p.11―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Fights were recounted, battles won amid wars sure to be lost; hope was clung to; families were both celebrated and denounced; it was agreed that friends just didn’t get it; tears were shed; comfort proffered.” (p.11―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever.” (p.13―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Peter Van Houten was the only person I’d ever come across who seemed to (a) understand what it’s like to be dying, and (b) not have died.” (p.13―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do its killing, it’s a metaphor.” (p.20―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Pain demands to be felt.” (―Peter Van Houten, An Imperial Affliction)

“All salvation is temporary. I bought them a minute. Maybe that’s the minute that buys them an hour, which is the hour that buys them a year. No one’s going to buy them forever, Hazel Grace, but my life bought them a minute and that’s not nothing.” (p. 59―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Maybe okay will be our always?” (p.73―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Come over here so I can examine your face with my hands and see deeper into your soul than a sighted person ever could.” (p. 74―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” (p. 125―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“The pain was always there, pulling me inside of myself, demanding to be felt.” (p.142―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“The risen sun too bright in her losing eyes.”(―Peter Van Houten, An Imperial Affliction)

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.” (p. 153―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Amsterdam is like the rings of a tree: it gets older as you get closer to the center.” (p.156―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Apparently the world is not a wish-granting factory.” (p.198―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“‘I do not know which to prefer, / The beauty of inflections, / Or the beauty of innuendos, / The blackbird whistling, / Or just after.’” (p.204―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“Some infinities are larger than other infinities.” (p.205―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

“What am I at war with? My cancer. And what is my cancer? My cancer is me. The tumors are made of me. They’re made of me as surely as my brain and my heart are made of me. It is a civil war, Hazel Grace, with a predetermined winner.” (p.216―John Green, The Fault in our Stars)

Hazel and Gus 22

What are your favorite quotes from The Fault in our Stars, and why?

Leave a Reply

